State of Virginia


*** NOTICE ***
This page includes a brief summary of provincial/state laws regulating ATV / Off-highway vehicle use current to April 2012. It is not intended as an absolute reference as laws are subject to change without notice and many potential prohibited acts may be covered by other legislation or statutes. It is recommended that you consult with the latest version of state statutes or provincial legislation.
General prohibited acts that may not be covered by specific OHV legislation include trespassing on private property, unlawful use of OHV on public highways, reckless use of off-highway vehicles, operation of off-highway vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, damage to public or private property or damage to natural habitats or protected areas which are all unlawful in every province and state.
Preamble

ATV's and other off-highway vehicles are regulated in the state of Virginia under Title 15 of Virginia statutes. These statutes cover use of off-highway vehicles on public and private lands.

For more information on Virginia ATV/OHV regulations, please download a copy of the Virginia OHV Act.






Summary of legislation regulating ATV use


Titling required
All residents of Virginia are required to title all off-highway vehicles over 50cc and purchased new or used after July 1, 2006.



Helmet required
All operators and riders of off-highway vehicles are required to wear DOT approved helmets at all times.





Age restrictions
Children less than 12 years of age are restricted to operating off-highway vehicles with an engine size no more than 70 cc.

Children 12-15 years of age are restricted to off-highway vehicles with an engine size no more than 90cc.
Children 16 years of age or older are permitted to operate an adult-sized off-highway vehicle.





Operation on public roadways or highways prohibited
Operation of off-highway vehicles on public highways is prohibited, except to cross these roads, for agricultural purposes, or while in Buchanan County.



Restrictions on carrying passengers
No operator may carry a passenger on a off-highway vehicle unless the vehicle is designed to carry a passenger.




Please visit our U.S. land use forums for discussions regarding land use and legal issues.




OHV Registration / Permit
Virginia does not currently require registration of off-highway vehicles, however some local areas such as designated trails and OHV parks may require local permits. In most cases, these permits can be purchased at the place you want to ride. Non-residents are recommended to possess valid out-of-state registration and decals on the vehicle.



For More Information
This page represents a general summary of applicable state laws which apply to the operation of an off-highway vehicle. Laws are subject to change and laws other than specific off-highway vehicle related laws may be in place which may directly or indirectly apply to the operation of a off-highway vehicle in certain circumstances. Please consult with your state statutes if you have any questions.

For more information on Virginia ATV/OHV regulations, please download a copy of the Virginia OHV Act.