State of Oregon
*** NOTICE ***
This page includes a brief summary of provincial/state laws regulating ATV / Off-highway vehicle use current to April 2012. It is not intended as an absolute reference as laws are subject to change without notice and many potential prohibited acts may be covered by other legislation or statutes. It is recommended that you consult with the latest version of state statutes or provincial legislation.
General prohibited acts that may not be covered by specific OHV legislation include trespassing on private property, unlawful use of OHV on public highways, reckless use of off-highway vehicles, operation of off-highway vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, damage to public or private property or damage to natural habitats or protected areas which are all unlawful in every province and state.
Preamble

ATV's and other off-highway vehicles are regulated in Oregon under Chapter 821- Off-Road Vehicles; All-Terrain Vehicles statutes. These statutes cover use of off-highway vehicles on public and private lands.

For more information on Oregon ATV/OHV regulations, please download a copy of the Oregon OHV Act.





Summary of legislation regulating ATV use



Required Equipment
            It is unlawful to operate an off-highway vehicle that is not equipped with;
    • An adequate muffler system which limits noise output to lawful levels;
    • A U.S. Forestry Service approve spark arrestor;
    • An adequate braking system;
    • An approved flag system if the off-highway vehicle is operated in sand;
    • Working headlights and Taillights if the off-highway vehicle is to be operated between one half hour after sunset to one half hour after sunrise.

Operation of highways or Railways
Operation of an off-highway vehicle on public roadways or highways is prohibited unless the roadway has been designated as a off-highway vehicle route.

Operation of an off-highway vehicle on a railway is prohibited.

Permit Required
All residents of Oregon are required to possess a OHV permit to operate off-highway vehicles on public or private lands.

Non-residents are required to purchase an Oregon OHV permit unless they have a valid OHV permit from another state which Oregon has reciprocity agreements with. (Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin)
Non-residents are required to purchase Oregon OHV permits if the off-highway vehicle will be present in Oregon for a period of time greater than 60 days.




Decals Required
Valid OHV permit decals are required to be displayed at all times. Non-residents are required to purchase an Oregon OHV permit if the off-highway vehicle is not equipped with an out of state decal which Oregon has a reciprocity agreement with.




Restrictions on underage operators
A person under the age of 16 is prohibited from operating an off-highway vehicle on public lands UNLESS he or she holds a valid OHV permit and is accompanied or directly supervised by an individual 18 years of age or older who holds a valid OHV permit and is operating an off-highway vehicle which is appropriate for the child's size, age and weight.



Operation while driving privileges are revoked
It is unlawful to operate an off-highway vehicle on public lands if the operators driving privileges are revoked or suspended.



Helmet Required
All operators and riders under the age of 18 must wear DOT approved helmets with chin straps attached while riding on public lands or lands open to the general public unless the vehicle is equipped with roll bars or a roof.



Operation in violation of posted restrictions or trespassing
It is unlawful to operate an off-highway vehicle or otherwise trespass on private property without the prior permission of the landowner.

It is unlawful to operate an off-highway vehicle in an area or property which has posted restrictions or prohibitions pertaining to the use of such vehicles.
Class 4 off-road vehicle restrictions
It is unlawful to operate a Class 4 off-highway vehicle (UTV/ Side-by-side) on public lands without a valid drivers license.

A child under the age of 16 may operate a class 4 off-highway vehicle only if
    • The Child is accompanied by an individual 18 years of age or older, who holds a valid Class 4 OHV permit and;
    • The Child holds a valid class 4 OHV permit and;
    • The off-highway vehicle bears a manufacturers label stating that the vehicle is suitable for the age of the child.
Unlawful Operation
It is unlawful to operate an off-highways vehicle in a dangerous or reckless manner.

It is unlawful to operate an off-highway vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating beverages or agents.
It is unlawful to operate an off-highway vehicle in any area or in such a manner so as to expose the underlying soil or vegetation or to injure, damage or destroy trees or growing crops.




Oregon OHV Riding Area Special Restrictions


Class 1 OHV (ATV, 3 wheel ATV), Class 3 OHV (Motorcycles)

The following restrictions apply to the operation of Class 1 and Class 3 off-highway vehicles in Oregon OHV riding areas.
  • All operators 60 years of age or younger are required to hold a valid ATV Safety Education Card
  • All operators under the age of 18 are required to wear DOT approved helmets with the chin straps attached at all times
  • All operators under the age of 16 are additionally required to take and pass a Hands on Training Safety Course
  • All operators must meet Rider Fit Rules.
  • Vehicle must meet safety requirements for off-highway vehicles.
  • No child under the age of 7 may operate a Class 3(Motorcycle) OHV.
Class 2 OHV (full size 4x4 vehicles)
The following restrictions apply to the operation of Class 2 (Jeeps, Trucks, Cars, Sand rails and other full size 4x4 vehicles) off-highway vehicles in Oregon OHV riding areas.
  • A valid drivers license is required.
  • All operators and riders under the age of 18 are required to wear DOT approved helmets unless vehicle is equipped with a roll bar or roof.
  • If the off-highway vehicle is equipped with seatbelts, all youth under the age of 16 are required to wear them at all times.
  • All vehicles must meet safety requirements for off road vehicles.
  • Valid liability insurance is required for all Class 2 vehicles.
Class 4 OHV (UTV's, side-by-side etc.)
The following restrictions apply to the operation of Class 4 (UTV's, side-by-sides etc.) off-highway vehicles in Oregon OHV riding areas.
  • A valid drivers license is required for all operators over the age of 16. Children 13-15 may operate a class 4 OHV if is specifically designed for an operator under the age of 16.
  • Children 13-15 are required to hold a valid ATV Safety Education Card and be directly supervised or accompanied by an individual 18 years of age or older who holds a valid ATV Safety Education Card.
  • Vehicles must meet safety requirements for off-highway vehicles.



Please visit our U.S. land use forums for discussions regarding land use and legal issues.




OHV Registration / Permit
All Oregon residents are required to purchase a off-highway vehicle permit for operation on public lands. Valid permit decals are required to be displayed on the vehicle. Permits can be purchased from any OHV Permit Vendor

Non-residents are required to also purchase an Oregon OHV Permit unless they have valid OHV registration and valid decals from a State which Oregon has reciprocity with. Permits can be purchased from any OHV Permit Vendor
For More Information
This page represents a general summary of applicable state laws which apply to the operation of an off-highway vehicle. Laws are subject to change and laws other than specific off-highway vehicle related laws may be in place which may directly or indirectly apply to the operation of a off-highway vehicle in certain circumstances. Please consult with your state statutes if you have any questions.

For more information on Oregon ATV/OHV regulations, please download a copy of the Oregon OHV Act.