State of North Dakota


*** NOTICE ***
This page includes a brief summary of provincial/state laws regulating ATV / Off-highway vehicle use current to April 2012. It is not intended as an absolute reference as laws are subject to change without notice and many potential prohibited acts may be covered by other legislation or statutes. It is recommended that you consult with the latest version of state statutes or provincial legislation.
General prohibited acts that may not be covered by specific OHV legislation include trespassing on private property, unlawful use of OHV on public highways, reckless use of off-highway vehicles, operation of off-highway vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, damage to public or private property or damage to natural habitats or protected areas which are all unlawful in every province and state.
Preamble

ATV's and other off-highway vehicles are regulated in the state of North Dakota under Chapter 39-29 of North Dakota statutes. These statutes cover use of off-highway vehicles on public and private lands.

For more information on North Dakota ATV/OHV regulations, please download a copy of the North Dakota OHV Act.




Summary of legislation regulating ATV use

Registration required
All residents of North Dakota are required to register their off-highway vehicle for operation on public lands. A valid decal must be displayed on the vehicle.

Non-residents are required to possess valid out-of-state registration and registration decals on the vehicle provided that the vehicle will be operated in North Dakota for a period less than 30 days. If the non-resident does not have current registration on the vehicle or the duration of use is greater than 30 days, the operator is required to purchase a North Dakota Non-Resident OHV Permit.

Helmets required
All operators and riders under the age of 18 riding on public lands are required to wear DOT approved helmets at all times.



Minimum age
No one under the age of 12 may operate a off-highway vehicle on public lands in North Dakota.



Safety certificate required
Children 12-15 are required to possess a North Dakota OHV Safety Certificate before they are permitted to operate off-highway vehicles on public lands.



Drivers license required
All operators 16 years of age or older are required to possess a valid drivers license to operate off-highway vehicles in North Dakota.



Liability insurance required
All operators of off-highway vehicles in North Dakota are required to carry liability insurance.



Restrictions on carrying passengers
It is unlawful for a operator of a off-highway vehicle to carry a passenger unless the vehicle is designed to carry passengers.



Operation on public roadways or highways prohibited
It is unlawful to operate a off-highway vehicle on a public roadway or highway except to cross such a roadway. In certain circumstances, it is permitted to make use of the bottom of a ditch or the outer slope of a roadway for a limited range for the purposes of crossing the roadway.





Please visit our U.S. land use forums for discussions regarding land use and legal issues.




OHV Registration / Permit
All residents of North Dakota are required to Register their off-highway vehicle and display a valid registration decal on the vehicle.

Non-residents are required to possess valid out-of-state registration and decals provided the duration of use in North Dakota is 30 or less. Off-highway vehicles that are not currently registered or vehicles that will be used in North Dakota for a period greater than 30 days must obtain a non-resident OHV permit.
For More Information
This page represents a general summary of applicable state laws which apply to the operation of an off-highway vehicle. Laws are subject to change and laws other than specific off-highway vehicle related laws may be in place which may directly or indirectly apply to the operation of a off-highway vehicle in certain circumstances. Please consult with your state statutes if you have any questions.

For more information on North Dakota ATV/OHV regulations, please download a copy of the North Dakota OHV Act.